The Lloyds Bank - National Business Awards UK 2017

13th November 2018


We reveal the Ashridge Business School Leader of the Year finalists

We reveal the Ashridge Business School Leader of the Year finalists

19 Oct 2015 by: Rohma Ahmed

*Sebastian James, David Mobbs, Carolyn McCall OBE, Ray Kelvin CBE 
and Gavin Patterson*

*Winners to be announced at the award ceremony on 10th November 2015*

The 2015 Lloyds Bank National Business Awards Ashridge Business School Leader of the Year finalists have been revealed as Sebastian James, Chief Executive of Dixons Carphone; David Mobbs, Chief Executive of Nuffield Health; Carolyn McCall OBE, Chief Executive of Easyjet; Ray Kelvin CBE, Founder and Chief Executive of Ted Baker and Gavin Patterson, Chief Executive of BT Group.

The winner will be chosen by a ballot of over 40 business leaders and the winner announced at the Award ceremony at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane on 10th November.

The business leaders and influencers include Dame Helen Alexander, Chairman of UBM; Ronan Dunne, CEO of Telefonica UK; Moya Greene, CEO of Royal Mail and winner of last year’s Leader of the Year award and Michael Hayman MBE, Co-Founder of Seven Hills.

The judges will convene at a private screening of video interviews of the finalists on the 22nd October to debate the attributes of each and vote for the strongest candidate.

The Ashridge Business School Leader of the Year Award recognises the personal impact of the UK’s most high profile leaders on the culture and success of their organisations and the industries they operate in. Judges look at how these leaders have demonstrated the best balance between traditional board values and the new business environment – achieving measured and sustainable growth or driving improved performance. 

“Good leadership can make an enormous difference to an organisation and as a business school, we strive to help good leaders become great leaders,” says Kai Peters, Chief Academic Officer of Ashridge and Hult International Business School. “Together with the National Business Awards we believe that the 2015 Leader of the Year needs an in-depth awareness of socio-economic and political trends; must make a major impact on the strategic direction, growth and culture of their organisation; must engage strongly with employees, stakeholders and wider society; and demonstrate a commitment to the long-term sustainability of their organisation.” 

Tom Broughton, Programme Director of the National Business Awards said, “All of the Leader of the Year finalists are more than worthy of their position in this category and it’s great to see a selection of industries across the group. I’m really looking forward to the judging debate and of course, the announcement of this year’s winner on the night."

Previous winners of the award include Martin McCourt, Former CEO Dyson (2010), Ruby McGregor-Smith, CEO MITIE Group (2011), Phil Smith, CEO of Cisco UK & Ireland (2012), Harriet Green, CEO Thomas Cook (2013) and Moya Greene, CEO Royal Mail UK (2014).

All finalists of the National Business Awards can be found on, a showcase of Britain’s leading businesses, business leaders and social enterprises. To book a table at the awards, please contact Loren Jones on 020 7955 3812 or email



Headline sponsor


Award sponsor


Award Sponsor


Award Sponsor

London stock

Award Sponsor


Award Sponsor


Awards supplement provided by

Awards supplement provided by The Times

Official Travel Partner


Official Executive Search Partner

The Grichan Partnership

Official Partner



Official Partner

Charities Aid Foundation

Official Partner

The Supper Club

Official Partner


Official Media Partner

businessmatters logo 2018

Official Media Partner


Official Media Partner


Official Media Partner