The Lloyds Bank - National Business Awards UK 2017

13th November 2018


National Business Awards Launches for 2013

National Business Awards Launches for 2013

03 Dec 2013

*Open for entries 6th March*

*Dame Helen Alexander appointed as Chair of Judges*

* New Advisory Board announced*

* Corporate Citizenship Award & Social Enterprise of the Year revealed as new categories *

The National Business Awards has today announced the 2013 programme will be open to enter from the 6th March, with new categories revealed, a new Advisory Board appointed, and a new Chair of Judges. Open to organisations of all sizes from all sectors across the UK - recognising excellence, innovation and ethics in UK plc - 2013 will see the twelfth annual National Business Awards recognising the very best in British business.

The National Business Awards has distinguished itself by its robust judging process and today the new Chair of Judges has been announced as Dame Helen Alexander, Chairman of UBM plc. She replaces Baroness Virginia Bottomley, who has presided over the judging process since 2011. Helen, former president of the CBI and CEO of the Economist Group, brings with her in-depth multi-sector knowledge that will inform content of the programme.

Helen Alexander, Chair of Judges said: "The quality and diversity of the businesses taking part, the robustness of its judging process, and the engagement from all sectors of the economy have established the National Business Awards as Britain'smost prestigious, relevant and credible accolade. It guarantees feedback to all who enter, so it is an invaluable benchmark for organisations from the private, public and third sectors demonstrating excellence."

The National Business Awards Advisory Board, a steering committee of business leaders and influencers that informs the strategic direction and development of the programme, also welcomes new members for the year ahead. Additions in 2013 include Michael Hayman, Co-founder of campaigning agency Seven Hills and the Start-Up Britain campaign; Dax Lovegrove, Head of Industry Relations at WWF UK; Allyson Stewart-Allen, Founder of International Marketing Partners; and Martha Lane Fox, UK Digital Champion and co-founder of Other members now include the 2012 Orange Leader of the Year winner, Phil Smith, CEO of Cisco UK & Ireland and Chairman of the Technology Strategy Board, as well as former winnersRuby McGregor-Smith of MITIE and Martin McCourt, Director of Montagu Private Equity and former CEO of Dyson.

The National Business Awards is introducing two new accolades in 2013 - the Corporate Citizenship Award will highlight the impact business can have on communities, while the Social Enterprise of the Year will recognise the most impactful and sustainable not for profit business model. Focusing on corporate longevity and plans to sustain profitable growth, the ICAEW Sustainable Business Award will recognise the most successful 'for profit' model demonstrated by past winners including Marks & Spencer (2012), Interface (2011), and The Co-operative Group (2010).

Alex Evans, programme Director of the National Business Awards said: "Reflecting trends in UK plc and recognising new approaches to enterprise excellence, this year's award programme is more inclusive than it has ever been with something for every type and size of business. Any top performing organisation can win a National Business Award and we encourageBritain's best to shout about their achievements on the biggest stage in the country."



Headline sponsor


Award sponsor


Award Sponsor


Award Sponsor

London stock

Award Sponsor


Award Sponsor


Awards supplement provided by

Awards supplement provided by The Times

Official Travel Partner


Official Executive Search Partner

The Grichan Partnership

Official Partner



Official Partner

Charities Aid Foundation

Official Partner

The Supper Club

Official Partner


Official Media Partner

businessmatters logo 2018

Official Media Partner


Official Media Partner


Official Media Partner